What Is the Legal Age to Get a Job in Georgia

What Is the Legal Age to Get a Job in Georgia

Lindsay Kramer is a freelance writer and writer working in the legal niche since 2012. She focuses in this niche on family law and personal injury law. Lindsay works closely with several legal marketing agencies and provides blog posts, website content, and marketing materials to law firms in the United States. The legal age to work in Georgia is 14 years under federal law and 12 years under Georgian law. Federal and state laws delineate occupations prohibited to children based on age and restrictions on working hours. Employers who violate child labor laws in Georgia can face hefty fines and jail time. This summary does not constitute qualified legal advice. Laws are always subject to change and may vary from municipality to municipality. It is up to you to ensure that you comply with all the laws and statutes of your region. If you need additional compliance assistance, we recommend contacting a qualified attorney, checking with your local authorities, or registering with Homebase for help from our certified HR professionals. Since 1 July 2015, work permits in Georgia are only required for workers under the age of 16.

The work permit must be signed by the minor`s parents or guardians and the minor`s date of birth. The employer must also sign the work permit, which is then approved by a qualified issuing officer such as the minor`s school counselor. While in most states the legal age to start working is 14, the Child Labor Act states that the legal working age is 12. Approved jobs include newspaper sales or delivery positions. Other types of light work can be done with parental permission, including in the entertainment industry. The legal age for employment under Georgian law is 12 years. Nevertheless, all employers covered by the RSA must comply with federal restrictions, which means that the federal law only applies to employers who are not subject to the RSA. While federal labor laws stipulate a legal working age of 14, the minimum working age in Georgia starts at 12. In order to avoid interference with school timetables, the State limits the type of employment these minors can receive and the hours they can legally work. In the United States, it is legal for a minor to find employment.

In fact, many Americans get their first job before the age of 18. Because a minor does not have the same legal rights as an adult, most states do not allow minors to work unless they have a valid work permit. A work permit stipulates that the minor`s parent entitles him or her to employment and understands the laws that apply to the minor`s employment. Restrictions on night work set limits on the time at which a minor can legally work. Getting a work permit in Georgia is much easier than most teens think, but the whole process can be pretty confusing if you`ve never done it before. That`s why we have created this page where you will find everything you need to know about getting a work permit in Georgia. If you`re under 16, a work permit is required to work part-time at any company, so follow what we`ve outlined here and you can get a job in no time. Georgia, like many countries, benefits from exemptions from its child labor laws. And as in many other states, family employers are a primary exception to these laws. If a minor works in a family business, there are no legal restrictions on the number of hours she can work. Similarly, there are no restrictions on agricultural work for minors.

It is illegal for an employer to punish or fire an employee who has taken leave to respond to a subpoena to appear before a jury, but it is not required to grant paid leave. In addition, Georgian legislation prohibits discrimination on the basis of unfiled or sealed criminal records. Federal law prohibits an employer from discriminating on the basis of race, color, age, sex, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, religion, national origin, pregnancy, genetic information, including family history, physical or mental disability, denial of support to the child or spouse, military or veteran status, citizenship and/or immigration status. All minors under the age of 16 need a work permit to find employment in Georgia. Minors between the ages of 16 and 17 have no time limit. Employers who violate FLSA child labor regulations can face a fine of up to $11,000 per child employed. The fine increases to $50,000 if the offence results in death or serious bodily harm to the child. A work permit is required before you start working. Minors in this age group are allowed to engage in various occupations, but not in those considered too dangerous.

Share this post