Thc Legal in Arkansas

Thc Legal in Arkansas

Arkansas is aligned with federal marijuana law. Although the state has had a medical marijuana program since 2016, recreational use remains illegal and severely punished. A designated caregiver is a person selected by a qualified patient as the person authorized on behalf of the patient qualified to possess, receive, dispense and assist in the administration of marijuana for medical purposes on behalf of the qualified patient. Nurses must apply for a registration card. A designated caregiver receives a medical marijuana registry card, which allows them to possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana on behalf of their patient. It is not legal for caregivers to use medical marijuana issued on behalf of a registered qualified patient. A criminal background check is required for most caregivers. Parents who apply to care for their own children have not been subject to a full criminal background check. In 2020, the Arkansas Recreational Marijuana Initiative did not receive enough signatures to appear on the ballot. If passed, the initiative would have legalized marijuana use in Arkansas for adults 21 and older.

The measure may be reviewed during the 2022 election cycle. In 2012, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act (No. 5) qualified to vote on the state ballot. The law would have allowed nonprofits to grow and sell medical cannabis, in addition to allowing patients living more than five miles from a legal dispensary to grow a small number of plants on their own property. [6] [7] The law was rejected by 48.6% to 51.4%. [8] Marijuana is severely restricted in Arkansas, so it may take some time before residents and tourists can legally purchase weed for recreational purposes. Here at Weedmaps, we mostly know about weed, which is illegal in Arkansas, except for medical marijuana card holders and their caregivers. The full list of state controlled substances is available on the Pharmacy Council website. That being said, growing medical marijuana at home in Arkansas is illegal. If you don`t have a medical marijuana card, it`s best to avoid cannabis, as recreational marijuana is illegal in Arkansas and possession can result in severe penalties. Yes. Qualified patients under the age of 18 cannot purchase medical marijuana at a dispensary.

The legal guardian or parent must register as a caregiver to purchase medical marijuana for a minor. Cannabis is illegal for recreational use in Arkansas. First possession of up to four ounces (110 g) is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500, imprisonment for up to one year and a mandatory six-month driver`s licence suspension. Medical use was legalized in 2016 by a vote to amend the state constitution. Not to mention, marijuana bought on the black market is not tested for pesticides and heavy metals. More than 90 percent of illegal marijuana farms seized in California are contaminated with heavy metals and pesticides that exceed safe limits for human consumption. Medical marijuana in Arkansas has a long and complicated history with ever-changing regulations. Unfortunately, this is not uncommon in the MMJ world and makes it difficult to comply with cannabis laws – especially in its natural state. But that`s why today we`re going to look at the specifics of medical marijuana laws in Arkansas. From ownership restrictions to cultivation regulations and everything in between, we cover everything related to marijuana in AR. So, is marijuana legal in Arkansas? Let`s find out.

Marijuana in Arkansas is illegal for recreational use, with fines of up to $6,000 and six years in prison. Recreational property is illegal. Possession of less than 4 ounces or 113.4 grams of marijuana on a first offence is punishable by up to one year in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. But thanks to recent technological advances in extraction methods, there is a new cannabinoid on the market. It`s twice as potent as Delta 9 marijuana, and what`s even better, you can buy it legally in Arkansas. Potential medical marijuana patients in Arkansas can register online with DHA. Patients and caregivers must pay a non-refundable fee of $50. Caregivers must also pay $37 for a background check. If the caregiver is the legal guardian or parent of a minor patient, they are not required to submit to a background check or pay the $37 fee. Prior to the legalization of medical cannabis in Arkansas, the city of Eureka Springs passed an election initiative in 2006 to make fighting marijuana-related crime a low priority. Fayetteville adopted a similar election initiative in 2007.

Legalization initiatives have been blocked by state court for a while, but this year the Arkansas Supreme Court ruled that people can vote to legalize cannabis in the November vote of this year. Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, former head of the Drug Enforcement Agency, strongly opposes the legalization of cannabis. However, recent polls show that the governor`s view does not match what most Arkansans think about the issue. On November 8, 2016, 53% of Arkansas voters approved the Arkansas Amendment on medical marijuana and legalized medical marijuana. The law allows eligible patients to obtain and use medical marijuana with medical authorization and provides licenses at state grow facilities and dispensaries. Marijuana is also illegal nationwide, so you can`t get it bought by a state and deliver it to your doorstep. Illinois is the closest state to Arkansas where recreational cannabis use is legal. As for efforts to legalize adult marijuana or recreational use, a petition campaign to bring the issue to voters in 2020 was derailed due to coronavirus concerns. The group behind the campaign, Arkansas True Grass, plans to try again for the 2022 election. That might change with the next election, but until then, you won`t have a legal way to buy marijuana in Arkansas. No. When your card expires, the legal protection afforded by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment has expired.

You can still submit your renewal application. You cannot purchase medical marijuana until your renewal card has been issued. You may be wondering, “Is THC legal in Arkansas?” Well, it depends. Arkansas` law is consistent with U.S. federal law regarding CBD and hemp. A few years ago, the government passed the 2018 Farm Bill. This law legalized hemp and hemp products as long as they contained no more than 0.3% THC. Therefore, CBD products made from hemp containing no more than 0.3% THC are legal in Arkansas. Legal reasons aside, some people are only sensitive to the psychedelic nature of Delta 9 THC. In low and medium doses, this cannabinoid provides a range of euphoric and relaxing sensations that are desirable when it comes to relieving various symptoms of physical and mental illnesses. Some of them also significantly exceed the legally approved limit for Delta 9 THC. Arkansas voters will have the opportunity to vote this fall to end cannabis prohibition — but the results may not matter until the outcome of a lawsuit filed in August is known.

After state officials previously confirmed that enough signatures had been submitted to qualify a constitutional measure to legalize cannabis for voting, the Arkansas State Board of Election Commissioners made a decision to prevent voters from seeing the measure, saying some aspects of the language would cause confusion for voters. On November 8, 2016, Arkansas voters voted for Number 6, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Amendment,[9] to legalize the medical use of cannabis. [10] [11] A separate measure, the Arkansas Medical Cannabis Act (Issue 7),[12] was barred from voting by the Arkansas Supreme Court 12 days before the election. [13] [14] No, you cannot legally buy marijuana online in Arkansas. As mentioned at the beginning, recreational use remains illegal. It is illegal to travel with marijuana to Arkansas because state law prohibits marijuana. You can travel with weed if you are a medical marijuana patient, but even then, you need to make sure you have a valid medical marijuana ID with proof of purchase. Hemp was legalized by the federal government in 2018 under the amended Farm Bill. The new law removed the plant from the list of controlled drugs and made it an agricultural raw material again. No, marijuana cultivation in Arkansas is illegal for recreational and medical purposes. If you are caught growing marijuana at home, law enforcement will treat it as possession and punish you accordingly. The more marijuana plants you grow, the harsher the penalty.

Share this post