States Legal Drinking AgeAdmin
There are only five states without an exemption from federal law: Alabama, Arkansas, Idaho, New Hampshire, and West Virginia. Forty-five States have exceptions, and these exceptions vary widely and merit further discussion. Congress passed the National Minimum Drinking Age Act in 1984, which sets the legal purchasing age at 21. 2. On private premises, not selling liquor, without parental consent: The consumption of alcohol by minors is not prohibited in some states on private premises that do not sell liquor, although it may be illegal for adults to provide alcohol to minors in those states. Each state sets its own specific requirements for what is considered legal. As part of undercover work or research, it is legal in some states for a minor employed in law enforcement to purchase and consume alcohol. This is an understandable attempt to keep these enforcement efforts unhindered. Despite these improvements, too many teenagers still drink. In 2012, 42% of Grade 12 students, 28% of Grade 10 students, and 11% of Grade 8 students reported drinking alcohol in the past 30 days. In the same year, approximately 24% of Grade 12 students, 16% of Grade 10 students, and 5% of Grade 8 students reported excessive drinking in the past two weeks.
The National Minimum Drinking Age Act of 1984 [23 U.S.C. § 158] requires states to prohibit persons under the age of 21 from publicly purchasing or possessing alcoholic beverages as a condition of receiving state highway funds. A federal ordinance interpreting the law excludes possession “for established religious purposes” from the definition of “public property”; accompanied by a parent, spouse or legal guardian who is at least 21 years of age; for medical purposes, if prescribed or administered by a physician, pharmacist, dentist, nurse, hospital or authorized medical facility; in clubs or private institutions; or for the sale, handling, transportation, or supply of liquor by reason of the lawful employment of a person under twenty-one years of age by a duly licensed manufacturer, wholesaler, or retailer of liquor” [23 C.F.R. § 1208.3]. * For established religious purposes;* If a person under twenty-one years of age is accompanied by a parent, spouse or guardian twenty-one years of age or older;* For medical purposes, if purchased as an over-the-counter drug or prescribed or administered by a physician, pharmacist, dentist, nurse, a hospital or an authorized medical facility;* In a private dwelling, which includes a residential dwelling and up to twenty contiguous hectares on which the dwelling belonging to the same person who owns it is situated;* the sale, handling, transport or service of supplying alcoholic beverages on the basis of the lawful ownership of an establishment or the lawful employment of a person under twenty-one years of age by a duly licensed producer, wholesaler or retailer of alcoholic beverages. After prohibition, nearly all states introduced a legal drinking age (MLDA) of 21. However, between 1970 and 1975, 29 states lowered the MLDA to 18, 19 or 20, mostly in response to the change in voting age. Studies conducted at the time showed that motor vehicle accidents among young people increased as states lowered their MLDA. In addition, the “blood boundaries” between states with different MLDAs came to public attention after high-profile accidents in which underage teens drove to a neighboring state with a lower MLDA, drank legally, and crashed on their way home. Stakeholders called on states to increase their MLDA to 21.
Some did so in the late 1970s and early 1980s, but others did not. To promote a national drinking age, Congress enacted the National MLDA. A 1988 review by the U.S. General Accounting Office found that raising the drinking age reduced alcohol consumption among adolescents, driving after drinking among adolescents, and alcohol-related motor vehicle accidents among adolescents. The Legal Drinking Age (MLDA) sets the legal age at which a person can purchase alcoholic beverages. The MLDA in the United States is 21 years. However, prior to the passage of the National Minimum Drinking Age Act of 1984, the legal age at which alcohol could be purchased varied from state to state.1 It`s no secret that Florida is a well-known party destination. But Florida is also known for strictly enforcing the MLDA of 21. You`ll find people who say that for the first time in 20 years, they`ve been listed on many travel sites when visiting a theme park. It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess alcohol in this state. Along with Oregon, California has the oldest MLDA 21 laws in the country.
In 2016, there was an initiative to lower the drinking age to 18, but it didn`t get much support. However, the consumption of alcohol by minors is allowed in the presence of a responsible adult. It was made to help parents teach their children the importance of moderation in alcohol consumption. In 1984, the federal government passed the National Minimum Drinking Age Act, setting the National Minimum Drinking Age at 21 (“MLDA”). It was phased in over a few years, and today, all 50 states require you to be 21 or older to buy alcohol. So why discuss drinking age by state? The minimum drinking age also means that establishments can discriminate against you based on your age and deny you access to an establishment, even if you don`t drink. There are also laws that prevent you from having certain jobs that involve serving or selling alcohol, or that punish people who let young people drink on their property.